Atlanta DUI Lawyer

DUIs are among the most common criminal charges that our firm sees, though this does not make them any less severe, which is why if you are currently facing such charges, you need an aggressive Atlanta DUI lawyer who truly cares about your right to go on living as a free person. Contact The Jones & Jones Law Group today to learn more about DUI charges in Georgia and how our firm can help you fight them.

Do I Need an Atlanta DUI Lawyer?

If you’ve recently received a DUI, you cannot afford to proceed without a knowledgeable Atlanta criminal defense lawyer on your side. Our firm will work to combat your charges at every turn in an effort to provide you with the second chance you deserve.

Blood Alcohol Content

If you are asked to take a breathalyzer test and you blow a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher, you will be charged with a DUI. That being said, if you are under the age of 21 and blow a blood alcohol content of .02%, you will also be charged with a DUI. Finally, those operating commercial vehicles will only need a BAC of .04% to receive a DUI.

Penalties for a First-Offense DUI in Georgia

Even for a first-offense DUI, you can expect to face a wide array of very serious penalties, including the following:

  • You may face up to 1 year of jail time
  • You may face a potential $1,000 fine (and additional court surcharges)
  • You may lose your driver’s license for up to 12 months, however, you may have your license reinstated after 120 days if you complete the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • You may have to participate in clinical evaluation and treatment

Penalties for a Second-Offense DUI in Georgia

Those who’ve been charged with a second DUI within five years of the first will most likely face the following penalties:

  • You may lose your driver’s license for up to 3 years
  • You may face up to 1 year of jail time
  • Mandatory enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • You may have to participate in clinical evaluation and treatment
  • You may have to pay a $1,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Up to 240 hours of community service

Penalties for a Third-Offense DUI in Georgia

Once you’ve received a third DUI within five years of the previous DUI, you will now face even harsher penalties, including the following:

  • Up to 5 years in jail
  • You may lose your driver’s license for up to 5 years
  • Up to 240 hours of community service
  • A potential $5,000 fine, plus court surcharges
  • Mandatory enrollment in the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
  • Potential subjection to clinical evaluation and treatment

Penalties for a Fourth-Offense DUI in Georgia

For a fourth-offense DUI, you will face the harshest penalties, which is why you cannot afford to proceed without a knowledgeable Atlanta DUI lawyer. Those penalties are as follows:

  • Up to 5 years of jail time
  • A potential $5,000 fine, as well as court surcharges
  • You may lose your driver’s license for up to 10 years
  • The potential seizure and forfeiture of your vehicle
  • Up to 500 hours of community service

Fighting DUI Charges in Atlanta

Fighting DUI charges is seldom easy, however, with skilled legal assistance on your side, it is possible. Some of the most common defenses against DUI charges are as follows:

  • The officer somehow violated your constitutional rights
  • The breath test was improperly administered
  • The field sobriety test was improperly conducted
  • There was no probable cause for arrest
  • There was no reasonable suspicion to conduct an investigation

Contact an Atlanta DUI Lawyer

The penalties for any DUI are extremely severe, even if this is only your first offense, which is why you must retain the services of a knowledgeable Atlanta criminal defense lawyer who can fight for your rights through every step of the process ahead. Contact The Jones & Jones Law Group today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.